Women Football League Season Kicks Off May 21 | Independent Newspapers Limited
Newsletter subscribe


Women Football League Season Kicks Off May 21

Action from Nigeria Women Premier League
Posted: Apr 25, 2016 at 3:33 am   /   by   /   comments (0)

The 2015/16 Nigeria Women Football League will kick off on May 21, the Nigeria Women Football League Congress has announced.

The women congress agreed that the premier league would start a week earlier before the commencement of the newly introduced second tier.

It was also agreed at the Congress which held at the Bently Hotel, Abuja that the 2015 /2016 Premier League season will be played in two groups – A and B.

Group A will parade Osun Babes, Pelican Stars, Tokas Queens and Edo Queens. Other teams in Group A include Nasarawa Amazons, Abia Angels, Ibom Angels, C.O.D. Ladies and Bayelsa Queens.

FC Robo, Martin White Doves, River Angels, Delta Queens, Adamawa Queens, Sunshine Queens and Confluence Queens are in Group B. Taraba Queens and Capital City Doves complete the numbers in the group.

Shehu Dikko, NFF 2nd Vice President, who represented NFF President at the event, declared the congress open and assured stakeholders the resolve of the football body to make the women’s football league commercially viable.

Dikko appealed for total cooperation of stakeholders to ensure the anticipated development is achieved in the women’s game.

“The NFF is fully committed to embracing new opportunities to improve the Women’s League,” Dikko began in opening address at the Congress.

“The NFF sees it as business and this is why we are throwing everything to make it an improved product that will be able to attract sponsors and run on its own.

“We enjoin all stakeholders to cooperate with us in this regard; we must all be ready to sacrifice for the good of the game and everyone will be happier in the end,” he concluded.

Babagana Kalli, chairman of the NWFL ad-hoc committee, said that the new governance structure would compose of an independent chairman, two chief executive officers and six clubs representatives.

Kalli, who doubles as NFF executive member and Borno State FA chairman, assured the club owners, stakeholders and media of an all-inclusive affair in the governance of the league.

The champions for the NWFL 2015/16 season will be decided through the ‘champion of champions final’ format with winner of group A facing the winner of group B.

Present at the Congress were representatives of the 18 topflight clubs, 28 second tier outfits including former chairperson of the board, Dilichukwu Onyedinma.