Wike Inaugurates Task Force On Relocation Of Petroleum Tankers | Independent Newspapers Limited
Newsletter subscribe


Wike Inaugurates Task Force On Relocation Of Petroleum Tankers

Posted: Sep 18, 2015 at 2:35 pm   /   by   /   comments (0)

Rivers State Governor, Nyesom Ezenwo Wike, on Friday, September 18, 2015 inaugurated two Task Committees to curb the indiscriminate parking of petroleum tankers on Azikiwe road and adjoining streets.

The measure is to protect the lives and property of residents of Port Harcourt.

The committees inaugurated by the governor on Friday at the Government House, Port Harcourt are: Task Force for the clearing of Iriebe Trailer Park with Prince Weli Wosu as chairman and Task Force for the implementation of no parking along Azikiwe road and adjoining streets with ACP Yemi Adeyemo as chairman.

Governor Wike charged both Task Force committees to get to work immediately as the tankers need to be cleared from the road.

He said that he had consulted with major stakeholders and security agencies to ensure the success of the work of both committees.

He explained: “This is to protect the lives and property along Azikiwe Road and adjoining streets. I have consulted widely with stakeholders for the success of this project.

“We all agreed that the Iriebe Park is the best place. They complained about the vehicles parked by EFCC and Civil Defence at the park. The Task Force clearing should get in touch with them to move the vehicles”.

The governor said that tankers expecting to load at Tank Farms in the heart of Port Harcourt will be parked at Iriebe Park, only to be invited by the Tank Farms to load.

He said going forward it would be illegal to park tankers indiscriminately in the town.

After the inauguration, Chairman of the Task Force on the Clearing of Iriebe Park, Prince Weli Wosu, assured the governor that the committees would live up to his expectations in their service to the state.

Task Force for Clearing of Iriebe trailer park: Chairman, Prince Weli Wosu (RVSG). Membership, Engr. Sam Omobhude (Surelink), Secretary.

Mr Nj Briade (DPR). Member (3. Bob Isaac (avido oil & gas. (4. Femi Siwoniku (conoil. (5. Oyigbo police DPO Nigeria police (6. Mrs Laura Obi (Bulk Srategec. (7. Obio /Akpor Security chief DSS (8. Clement Oziri (NUPENG. (9. Amougu Theophilus.



Task force for the implementation of no parking along Azikiwe Road and Adjoining Street.     Chairmanship.   (1. Yemi Adeyemo (Police. (2. Bassey Harry (NUPENG.   (3. Abdul Shuaibu (NUPENG (4. Azubuike Azubuike (Pengason.

  1. DOP old GRA (police (6). John Eze (FRSC).
  2. PHC LGA Security Chief (DSS).
  3. Engr. Temple Amachree (RVSG).
  4. Mr Graham Nsiegbe.