US Govt Bars Citizens From 20 States In Nigeria | Independent Newspapers Limited
Newsletter subscribe

Latest News

US Govt Bars Citizens From 20 States In Nigeria

US Embassy Abuja
Posted: Aug 4, 2016 at 5:30 pm   /   by   /   comments (0)

The United States (US) on Thursday cautioned its citizens to avoid all travel to 20 states in Nigeria for security reasons, stating that the areas were unpredictable.

Issuing the warning Wednesday, the Department of State warned Americans against travel to Adamawa, Borno and Yobe states, on account of it limited means of providing assistance to US citizens in the three states.

“Based on safety and security risk assessments, the Embassy maintains restrictions for travel by US officials to the states listed above; officials must receive advance clearance by the US Mission for any travel to those states,” the US agency said.

It urged US citizens in Nigeria to consider their own personal security and to keep personal safety in the forefront of their travel planning.

The Department also warned against all but essential travel to 17 other states due to the risk of kidnapping, robbery, and other armed attacks. The states include Bauchi, Bayelsa, Delta, Edo, Gombe, Imo, Jigawa, Kaduna, Kano, Katsina, Kebbi, Kogi and Niger.

Others are Plateau, Rivers, Sokoto, and Zamfara.

It explained that security measures in Nigeria were heightened due to threats posed by extremist groups, and “U.S. citizens may encounter police and military checkpoints, additional security, and possible road blocks throughout the country.”