The end for NMVA? | Independent Newspapers Limited
Newsletter subscribe


The end for NMVA?

Posted: Sep 16, 2016 at 3:20 pm   /   by   /   comments (0)
Hazeez Balogun – Lagos
The Nigeria Music Video Awards (NMVA) had always been wobbly from the start. Since its inception, it has struggled to get support and funding that it needed to host a great show. Organisers have over the years tried to rebrand the event to appeal to the corporate world, yet it could not get the kind of sponsorship it needed.
The owner of the awards, veteran Tv presenter, Cally Ikpe had thrown all his weight behind it, called on all his industry contacts, musicians, journalists, event centre managers, to lend a hand in making the awards hold every year. And it did hold yearly albeit poor standards. However, it comes, it still stands on the calendar of entertainment events in Nigeria.
However, it seems that the current recession is the proverbial straw that has broken the camel’s back. The organisers have announced that they will no longer hold the event this year. Despite their struggling nature, the announcement came as a shock. NMVA is known for postponing the event but never cancelling.
It was also a big shock because the news was announced 78 hours to the event. Those who were already prepared for the event were let down. A cancellation is something that must have been known beforehand and it took the award organisers three days to the event to announce it.
The coordinators had cited logistics challenge for the decision. They said, “it was a tough call but it was inevitable.” The orgnaisers also said, “the need to overhaul the concept, with a view to making it more purposeful also overwhelmed it.” There is a promise that the event will still hold, but inside sources say that is not possible this year.
Besides, they have gone ahead to announce the list of winners. It will be useless for the award to still hold when all the winners and the public already know who will take home the plaques.
However, giving reasons on why they are releasing the winners for 2015 edition despite the fact that the ceremony was not held, the coordinator of the award, Mr. Cally Ikpe said, “all other stages of the 9th edition of the NMVA was observed, from the call for entry, the nomination and to the online voting among other ancillary programmes. It is imperative that the public is let into what the result of the process is. Though belated, we are pleased to announce the winners in the various categories for the 9th edition of the annual Nigeria Music Video Awards. In a short while, we will also let you know what the plans for the 2016 edition are”.
Industry watchers believe that the woes of the awards stemmed from its very nature. The award is basically for music videos, hence it has a niche group it targets. The videos are not the product of the artistes, but that of music video producers. Awarding artistes for another person’s work is not tasteful and there have been arguments on the borderline nature of such awards.
Here is the list of winners as released by the organisers”
Winner for Best Rnb Video was Timi Dakolo with his song, ‘Wish Me Well’, Best Highlife Video went to
Harrysong for “Reggae Blues”, while Best Soft Rock and Alternative Video was given to Adekunle Gold for ‘Sade’. Humblesmith’s ‘Osinachi’ earned him Best Gospel Video, and Famous won Young Bobby and Lexxy Eye Best Video By Minors Award.
Other winners include, Wizkid’s “Ojuelegba” as the Best Afrobeat Video, Sheyi Shay’s “Right Now” as Best Raggae and Dancehall Video, and Falz’ “Karishika” as Best Afro Hip Hop Video.
Best Afro Pop Video went to Oristefemi for “Igbeyawo”,  Best Pop Extra Video to Tekno Miles for “Duro” and Best Video By A New Artiste to Kiss Daniel’s “Laye”.
Best Contemporary Afro Video was won by Korede Bello for “Godwin”, Mainstream Hip Hop Video went to Vector for “Kingkong” Remix, Best Use Of Dance In A Video went to May D for “Ibadi” while Best Use Of Costume In A Video was given to “Tipsy” by O’Wunmi
In the technical categories, Best Use Of Visual Effect In A Video was won by Reekado Banks’ “Katapot”, Best Cinematography to Mr Moe Musa’s “Melo”, Best Director is Mattmax, Best New Director is Wole Siren, Best Editor is Unlimited La, Record Label Of The Year is Mavin Records and Video Of The Year was awarded to Vector for his “Kingkong” Remix video