Sylva Wins Rescheduled Bayelsa APC Gov Primary | Independent Newspapers Limited
Newsletter subscribe


Sylva Wins Rescheduled Bayelsa APC Gov Primary

Posted: Sep 30, 2015 at 5:55 pm   /   by   /   comments (0)


By Igoniko Oduma, Yenagoa
Former Governor of Bayelsa State, Timipre  Sylva, has again emerged the flag bearer of the All Progressives Congress (APC) for the Bayelsa State governorship election fixed for December 5 by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).
The National Working Committee (NWC) of the APC  had on Monday, September 28, 2015, cancelled the controversial governorship primary conducted by the Governor Adams Oshiomhole-led committee on Tuesday, September 22, 2015, and announced a repeat of the exercise.
Sylva won by a landslide at the rescheduled APC primary conducted in Yenagoa on Wednesday by a new electoral committee of the party chaired by Mansur Dan-Ali, a retired Brigadier-General.
There was heavy security presence at the party’s state secretariat  venue of the primary located along the Yenizue-Gene axis of the  Mbiama-Yenagoa Road in the state capital.
The exercise caused traffic gridlock as major roads and streets leading to and from the area  were partially closed by armed-to-the-teeth security operatives.
Sylva polled a total of 981 votes to emerge victorious at the primary.
His  major opponent in the race for the APC governorship ticket and former  Managing Director of the NDDC, Timi Alaibe, had no votes.
Alaibe, who did show up at the primary, had on the eve of the exercise announced his withdrawal from the governorship race.
Other aspirants who did not score any votes were Tarilah Tebepah, George Ombeh, Imoro Kubor and Tonye Apreala, a female aspirant.
Godknows Powell scored 39 votes to clinch the first runner-up position closely followed by Warman Ogoriba 28 votes, Diekivie Ikiogha 22 votes, Romeo Bekeiyei 10 votes, Ebitei Willaims 9 votes, Preye Aganaba 8 votes, while Austin Febo Ogionwo and Charity Vedelago, another female aspirant, polled seven votes each.
Two other aspirants, Ebitimi Amgbare and Senator Clever Ikisikpo polled three votes each while Christopher Enai got two votes and Emmanuel Otiotio and Senator Felix Oboro scored one vote each.
Dan-Ali, while declaring  Sylva winner of the primary, said that a total of 1,147 delegates were accredited with 1,120 valid votes cast and 27 invalid votes were recorded at the primary.