Probable winners and possible losers | Independent Newspapers Limited
Newsletter subscribe


Probable winners and possible losers

Posted: Apr 10, 2015 at 3:14 pm   /   by   /   comments (0)

Who will win where? As flag-bearers of the All Progresives Congress and Peoples Democratic Party go to the polls, in the battle to control Government House, here is a projection of the likely winners and loser:

Abia: The battle for Government House will be between the candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Okezie Ikpeazu, and that of the All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA), Dr. Alex Otti. Ikpeazu appears to stand a better chance.

Adamawa: The former crime fighter, Mallam Nuhu Ribadu of the PDP will slug it out with Mohammed Umar Jibrilla of the APC. The PDP in Adamawa has been torn to shreds and may not perform better than it did on March 28.

Akwa Ibom: The battle will be between Emmanuel Udom of PDP and Umana Okon Umana of the APC, two former Secretaries to the State Government under Governor Godswill Akpabio. Emmanuel has the state’s PDP structure behind him, and is considered the favourite to win.

Bauchi: Mohammed Abdullahi Abubakar of APC will lock horns with Jatau Mohammed Auwal of the PDP. The APC candidate will depend on his party’s winning streak in the state.

Benue: Ortom Samuel Ioraer of APC is facing Terhemen Tarzoor of the PDP. Bookmakers tip Ortom to win.

Borno: The major contestants, Kashim Shettima of APC, and Lawan Gambo of the PDP, will lock horns. Shettima will depend on his incumbency advantage and party’s win in the presidential election.

Cross River: Ayade Benedict of APC will face Odey Anthony Ochicha of the PDP. Ochicha has the edge.

Delta: With Labour Party’s Great Ogboru in the race, Delta appears like a three-horse race. But the battle will be between Oghenetega Emerhor of the APC and Dr. Ifeanyi Okowa of the PDP. Okowa is expected to draw on the traditional PDP support in the state to carry the day.

Ebonyi: In Ebonyi, the contest will be between Nweze David Umahi of the PDP and Agbo Anthony Udumah of APGA. Despite schism in Ebonyi PDP, it appears set to clinch the governorship.

Enugu: In Enugu, Chukwuka Ugwu of APGA will face Ifeanyi Lawrence Uguanyi  of the PDP at the poll. Ugwuanyi has the backing of Governor Sullivan Chime and Deputy Senate President, Ike Ekweremadu. Advantage: Uguanyi.

Gombe: In Gombe, the incumbent Governor, Ibrahim Dankwanbo of the PDP, will battle Mohammed Inuwa Yahaya of the APC. If the state votes according to the pattern set on March 28, Yahaya could be winner.

Imo: Imo will have Capt. Emmanuel Iheanacho of APGA doing battle with the incumbent, Owelle Rochas Okorocha, of APC and Chukwuemeka Nkem Ihedioha of the PDP. Though Okorocha would face immense challenge from Iheanacho, he could swing votes with his power of incumbency.

Jigawa: Mohammed Badaru Abubakar of APC will square up with Mallam Aminu Ibrahim Ringim of the PDP. Though Ringim is a strong candidate, the APC could run away with victory again.

Kaduna: Nasir el-Rufai of APC will face the incumbent Muktar Yero of the PDP. Yero is popular and stands a chance of overcoming the party’s set back in the presidential poll.

Kano: Abdullahi Umar Ganduje of APC will tackle Salihu Mohammed Sagir of PDP. Ganduje stands a better chance in today’s Kano.

Katsina: Aminu Bello Masari of APC and Musa Massuni of PDP will do the battle. Masari, a veteran politician, who also finds himself in a winning party should lead in the poll.

Kebbi: Abubakar Atiku Bagudu and Bello Sarkin Yaki will fight it out for APC and PDP, respectively. If the party is a factor, then Bagudu holds the ace.

Kwara: The contest will be between the incumbent, Abdulfattah Ahmed of APC and Senator Simeon Sule Ajibola of PDP. Ahmed is favoured to win.

Lagos: The battle in Lagos will be an epic one between Akinwumi Dapo Ambode of APC and Joseph Olujimi Agbaje of PDP. Ambode has a number of advantages to leverage on. But, judging by the results of the presidential poll, the race is too close to call.

Nasarawa: The incumbent, Umar Tanko Al-Makura of APC, will do battle with Yusuf Mohammed Agabi of PDP. This is going to be a close race. The PDP structure and Agabi’s candidacy could make the difference.

Niger: Abubakar Sani Bello of APC and Umar Mohammed Nasko of PDP will do battle. The recent upset in the state could continue and help Bello to gain the upper hand.

Ogun: The incumbent, Ibikunle Amosun of APC, will face Adegboyega Isiaka of PDP. Kamar Akin-Odunsi of Social Democratic Party (SDP) is also a strong contender. The APC appears to be in control of the state, going by the presidential and NASS elections.

Oyo: The incumbent, Abiola Ajimobi of APC, Teslim Folarin of PDP, former governors Rashid Ladoja of Accord Party and Christopher Alao -Akala of Labour Party in Saturday battle. Ajimobi is likely to set a re-election record in the state, even if by a slim chance.

Plateau: Hon. Simon Lalong of APC and Senator Gyang Pwajok of PDP are slugging it out. Pwajok, protégé of Governor Jonah Jang, is tipped to win.

Rivers: The race is between Dakuku Peterside of APC and Nyesom Wike of PDP. Going by the presidential election in the state, what is predictable is that tomorrow will be battle royale. And, irrespective of the winner, the ultimate victor will be decided by the courts.

Sokoto: House of Representatives Speaker, Aminu Tambuwal of APC, will face Senator Abdalla Wali of PDP. Tambuwal’s party base and popularity should count in his favour.

Taraba: Senator Aisha Jumai Alhassan of APC and Darius Dickson Isiaku of PDP will do battle. Isiaku appears to be riding on the popularity of the PDP in the state.

Yobe: Incumbent Ibrahim Gaidam of APC and Adamu Maina Waziri are contesting. Gaidam stands the chance to return.

Zamfara: AbdulAzeez Yeri of APC and Mahmud Shinkafi of PDP will vie for office. The APC gets the nod.