Osun Assembly Begins Probe Of Justice Oloyede’s Petition | Independent Newspapers Limited
Newsletter subscribe


Osun Assembly Begins Probe Of Justice Oloyede’s Petition

Posted: Jul 16, 2015 at 3:45 pm   /   by   /   comments (0)

By Gbenga Faturoti, Osogbo

Osun State House of Assembly, on Thursday, July 16, 2015, put paid to speculations making the rounds that it was attempting to sweep under the carpet the petition by a serving judge, Justice Folahanmi Oloyede, asking for the commencement of impeachment process against Governor Rauf Aregbesola and his Deputy, Mrs. Grace Titilayo Laoye-Tomori.

The House Speaker, Najeem Salaam, has consequently inaugurated 7-man committee that would look into the petition, seeking a probe that might lead to the impeachment of Governor Aregbesola.

Announcing the committee during a press briefing addressed at the floor of the assembly, Hon. Salam said that the committee would work for two weeks and come up with their recommendation, urging them to carry out the assignment without prejudice.

It would be recalled that Justice Oloyede’s petition has triggered reactions that had led to protests from different rights activists’ groups and different opinions from stakeholders.

In his address, Hon. Salaam said: “I acknowledge that the entire world is waiting for what we have to do with the petition forwarded to us by Justice Folahanmi Oloyuede.

“I must disclose to you that Governor Rauf Aregbesola has obliged us his response to the petition and we have constituted a committee to look into the matter with a view to investigating the allegations levelled against him, and I am confident that the honourable men in this committee would do justice to the matter before them without fear or favour.

“Let it be known that we shall treat the petition with all commitment, because it emanates from a serving judge of the state.

Hon. Salaam assured the public that justice would be done, adding “the petitioner approached us because of the trust she has in the Assembly.

Members of the committee are Owoeye Timothy, Oladoye Folorunso, Adebayo Waseeu, Akinola Olasunkanmi, Ogunsola Oyeleke, Afolabi Olalekan with Hon. Adegboye Akintunde as the Chairman.

Reacting shortly after the inauguration, the member representing Ife Central, Makinde Oladejo, expressed dissatisfaction over the composition of the committee, saying the minority were excluded.

He queried: “Though we are not here to serve as opposition, what are the criteria they used to compose the committee that I did not have? How would you do such a thing without the opposition and the minority leader?”

Stressing that all members should be carried along, Oladejo said, “though, the majority may have their way, the minority will always have their say.”