Oshoala Leads 39 Others For AWCON Qualifiers | Independent Newspapers Limited
Newsletter subscribe


Oshoala Leads 39 Others For AWCON Qualifiers

Posted: Mar 1, 2016 at 5:28 am   /   by   /   comments (0)

The Nigeria Football Federation (NFF) has released the names of 40 players being invited for the forthcoming Africa Women’s Cup of Nations qualifiers against either Senegal of Guinea.
Of the 40 invited, 12 are foreign based with Asisat Oshola leading the pack. The remaining 28 are home based.

The NFF said in a statement on Monday that it was inviting these players on behalf of the technical crew of the Super Falcons, headed by Florence Omagbemi. Other invited foreign players are, Josephine Chukwunonye, Ngozi Ebere, Faith Ikidi, Onome Ebi, Halimatu Ayinde, Halimatu Ayinde, Ngozi Okobi, Evelyn Nwabuoku, Rita Chikwelu, Esther Sunday and Ebere Orji.

Nigeria drew bye into the second round of the qualifying series, with the final competition to hold in Cameroon in November. The senior women teams of Senegal and Guinea will contend over two legs in March, with the winner to battle the Super Falcons in home-and-away contests between 4th – 12th April. All invited players are expected to report at Serob Legacy Hotel, Wuye, Abuja on Tuesday, March 1.