Oshiomhole Sacks Four Commissioners | Independent Newspapers Limited
Newsletter subscribe


Oshiomhole Sacks Four Commissioners

Posted: Sep 9, 2015 at 7:58 pm   /   by   /   comments (0)

By Francis Onoiribholo, Benin

Edo State Governor, Adams Oshiomhole on Wednesday announced the termination of the appointment of four commissioners in the State Executive Council.

Those sacked are the Commissioner for Local Government and Chieftaincy Affairs, Chief Lucky James; Commissioner for Women Affairs, Mrs. Blessing Maigida;   Commissioner for Basic Education, Mr. Patrick Aguinede,  and Commissioner for Energy and Water Resources, Mr. Chris Ebare.

The governor who announced the sack in a statement signed by Special Adviser, Media and Public Affairs, Prince Kassim Afegbua, stated that the sack was in line with government’s commitment to strengthen the system towards optimal performance.

The statement directed the affected commissioners to hand over all government property in their possession to the Permanent Secretaries in their respective ministries.

The governor expressed his appreciation to the former commissioners for their services to the state and wished them well in their future endeavours.

The termination is with immediate effect, the statement added.