We Are Oil Producing Community – Kurutie Leader | Independent Newspapers Limited
Newsletter subscribe

Latest News

We Are Oil Producing Community – Kurutie Leader

Posted: Apr 20, 2016 at 6:43 pm   /   by   /   comments (0)

Emma Arubi

Warri – A Gbaramatu Community, Kurutie, the paternal home of High Chief Government Ekpemukpolo, a.k.a Tompolo, in Warri South-West Local Government Area, Delta State has stated that it is one of the oil producing communities in Delta State playing host to five oil wells.

The community’s position was made known by its immediate past Chairman, Chief Anthony Ayebibode, during the swearing-in of a new 11-member executive to pilot affairs of Kurutie for the next three years.

Chief Ayebibode who spoke to Independent noted that apart from serving as host to the temporary site of Nigerian Maritime University, NMU, Kurutie has consistently provided the enabling environment for Nigeria Petroleum Development Company, NPDC operating in the community.

Speaking in the same vein, the newly sworn-in Chairman of Kurutie Community, Apostle Monday Toruosei, assured that his leadership will support the Delta State Governor, Dr. Ifeanyi Okowa’s SMART Agenda so as to attract more infrastructure to the community

Chief Ayebibode while handing over the mantle of leadership to Apostle Monday Toruosei then appealed to the Federal Government to ensure that academic activity at the Nigeria Maritime University starts within the shortest possible time, saying it will serve as veritable tool to open up the coastal communities in Delta State.

On his part, the new Publicity Secretary of the Community, Vivian Pori enjoined genuine investors to take advantage of the peaceful atmosphere Kurutie provides and promised that members of the new executive will ensure a more rapid development in the area.

The eldest man (Amakosowei) of the community, Chief Thomas Lawei prayed for the new leadership and tasked them to leverage on the development foundation laid by their predecessors in office.

Other members of the new executive are Godwin Uduboh-Vice Chairman, Victor Ayebibode-Secretary, Alex Igare-Assistant Secretary, Joseph Uduboh-PRO, Felicia Popo- Treasurer, Evelyn Ekpemupolo-Assistant Treasurer, SaturdayEse Murun-Organizer, Barr. Linda Wereyeseigha-Legal Adviser and Julius Toruosei-Financial Secretary respectively.