Obiano Set To Inaugurate Anambra Assembly | Independent Newspapers Limited
Newsletter subscribe


Obiano Set To Inaugurate Anambra Assembly

Posted: Jun 11, 2015 at 4:16 pm   /   by   /   comments (0)

By Chukwujekwu Ilozue, Awka

THE Anambra State governor, Willie Obiano, is expected to inaugurate new legislators of Anambra House of Assembly on Thursday, June 11, 2015.

Already, the government has sent out invitations for the ceremony to a cross spectrum of the public. These include traditional rulers, town union Presidents-General, government officials among others.

The last House had its valedictory session on Tuesday and some of the members have already secured other jobs.

The Speaker of that House, Nwaebili Clare, for instance, drove straight to Governor’s Lodge, Amawbia from the valedictory session to be sworn in as new Commissioner for Environment.

Nwebili had unsuccessfully contested to represent Ogbaru Federal constituency in the House of Representatives, a seat which Chu Chu Onyema picked.

In respect of new leadership of the House, the new members met all day yesterday to see if there could be a consensus candidate to no avail.

Although the members would meet till last night, Daily Independent learnt that if consensus fails, it might be everybody to himself and the governor may play a very big role in deciding who leads the House as he would then announce whom he favours.

But, there has been fears that if the governor does this directly, the House will be seen as a rubber stamp and lose respect by the public.

Nevertheless, it is believed that the candidate will emerge from the six old members from Anambra South Senatorial district.

It will be recalled that in the spirit of zoning, the Governor having come from Anambra North and his Deputy from the Central, South Senatorial district is favoured to produce the Speaker.

The six legislators, who are all two timers, except Princess Nikky Ugochukwu (Orumba South) who is returning to the House for the third time, are: Ikem Uzoezue (Aguata II), Ikechukwu Ume (Aguata I), Romanus Obi (Orumba North),   Rita Maduagwu (Nnewi South II) and Kingsley Iruba (Nnewi South).

All the listed legislators belong to the ruling All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA).

They are also all chairmen of different committees of the House: Ugochukwu being Chairman of Committee on Finance and Appropriation

Others are: Ikem Uzoezie (Environment), Ikechukwu Ume (Chief Whip), Kingsely Iruba, who is chairman of Committee on Transport, and Rita Maduagwu, chairman, House Committee on Education.