NFF Congressmen For Leadership Training In UK | Independent Newspapers Limited
Newsletter subscribe


NFF Congressmen For Leadership Training In UK

Posted: Nov 25, 2015 at 7:00 am   /   by   /   comments (0)

The Nigeria Football Federation (NFF), says it has concluded arrangements to take members of its Congress to the United Kingdom (UK), for a four-day leadership training.

A statement posted on the website of the NFF on Tuesday in Abuja said that persons in the first batch of the programme, scheduled to hold between Dec. 4 and Dec. 7 in London, had secured visas.

It said that first batch, which comprised the chairmen of State Football Associations, and the General Secretary of the NFF Mohammed Sanusi, would be sponsored by some private organisations, Arik Airlines and Zenith Bank

“The chairmen of the state FAs are the first-line charge for real development of the game at the grassroots; they also constitute the primary constituency of stakeholders.

“We are happy to have been able to arrange this programme for them, and I can assure you that the impact of this programme on the development of Nigeria football will be felt in the months and years to come”, the statement said.

It listed the resource persons to include Greg Dyke, the Chairman of The Football Association; Richard Scudamore, Chief Executive of The Premier League and Sir Dave Richards, former Chairman of The Premier League.

It quoted Amaju Pinnick, the NFF President as saying that David Dein,the former Vice Chairman of Arsenal Football Club is also among the resource persons for the four-day programme.

“The present NFF administration is committed to building/enhancing the capacity of all workers in the game of football.

“In the last one year, we have organised capacity building programmes for referees and coaches in the United Kingdom and Nigeria; this is an ongoing exercise.

“Other sectors of the sport will also benefit as we look to improve the capacity of everyone involved in the beautiful game’’, the statement quoted Pinnick as saying.

Ibrahim Gusau, Chairman of Chairmen; Taiwo Ogunjobi, Osun FA Chairman; Amanze Uchegbulam, Imo FA Chairman; Busari Ishola, Kwara FA Chairman and Mohammed Alkali, Nasarawa FA Chairman, are among those in the first batch.

Others are Yahuza Adamu, Bauchi FA Chairman; Abubakar Ladan, Kebbi FA Chairman; Oswald Atuake of Cross River; Frank Ilaboya of Edo; Margaret Icheen of Benue; Abdulkadir Magaji of Kaduna and Chidi Ofo Okenwa of Enugu.

James Odeniran, the Chairman of Oyo FA and his Bayelsa counterpart Porbeni Ogun, are also among those to benefit from the program.

The second batch will take place in January 2016.