NB lauded Over Teacher’s Reward Initiative | Independent Newspapers Limited
Newsletter subscribe


NB lauded Over Teacher’s Reward Initiative

Posted: Sep 16, 2015 at 12:00 am   /   by   /   comments (0)

A word of commendation has gone to Nigeria Breweries Plc for instituting the Maltina Teacher of the Year initiative. The Secretary General of Nigeria Union of Teachers, Obong Ikpe Obong  who gave the commendation described the initiative embarked upon by the company as encouraging particularly as it will go along way to boost the morale of the teachers.

According to the NUT scribe, other corporate bodies should emulate the good example being set by the brewing giant and its corporate principle of ‘winning with Nigeria’.

Ikpe Obong made the charge during a meeting with the representative of the company, Mrs. Emete Tonukari, the CSR/Sustainability Manager of Nigerian Breweries Plc inside the Union’s national head office in Abuja. He said the Union is delighted with the calibre of personalities selected by the organisers of the Maltina Teacher of the Year to serve on the panel of judges. “It shows the thoroughness and transparent manner you people went about the selection process,” he said.

He revealed that the Union will explore the possibility of featuring NB Plc. as a critical stakeholder at the World Teachers Day celebration on   October 5, during which the company will be accorded the opportunity, not only to present a good will message, but exhaustively outline its programme for the Maltina Teacher of the Year initiative.

The NUT Secretary General expressed optimism that more teachers will key in to the Maltina Teacher of the Year initiative in the coming years. He therefore, enjoined organisers of the initiative to make provision for primary school teachers’ category in next year’s edition of the project

Responding on behalf of the initiators of the project, Mrs. Tonukari expressed appreciation to the NUT for the cooperation and support the Nigerian Breweries Felix Ohiwerei Education Trust Fund have received from the Union in the course of running the initiative. She promised to always provide the Union with update on plans and programmes concerning progress on the Maltina Teacher of the Year initiative.

She assured the Union of the thoroughness and rigour that is being put into the judging process of the project. She revealed that the initiative’s panel of judges are currently scrutinising entries from all over the country and are judging them to determine who will be named Nigeria’s exceptional Teacher of the Year when the state and national winners will be made known at a grand ceremony in Lagos on October 12, 2015.

It will be recalled that the Nigerian Breweries Felix Ohiwerei Education Trust Fund announced the Panel of Judges for the on-going Maltina Teacher of the Year initiative listing eminent Nigerian academics and professionals in the panel.

The panel, which is chaired by Prof. Pat Utomi, Founder/CEO, Centre for Values in Leadership also includes: Prof. (Mrs.) Mopelola O. Omoegun, Professor of Education, University of Lagos, Prof. Thomas I. Ofuya;  Vice Chancellor, Wellspring University and Member, Committee of Vice Chancellors of Nigerian Universities and Mr. Olusegun Adeniyi, Chairman Editorial Board, ThisDay Newspapers.

Others are Dr. (Mrs.) Abdulrahman Binta Fatima, National President, All Nigeria Confederation of Principals of Secondary Schools and Professor Tijjani Abubakar, Dean, Faculty of Education, Ahmadu Bello University.

The panel is saddled with the responsibility of judging the entries to select winners at the maiden edition of the Maltina Teacher of the Year initiative.

Welcoming the Panel of Judges to its inaugural meeting in Lagos recently, the company’s Corporate Affairs Adviser, Mr. Kufre Ekanem stated that the judges were selected to serve on the panel based on their pedigree, uprightness, professionalism and dedication to duty.