Mourinho, Terry For EPL Awards | Independent Newspapers Limited
Newsletter subscribe


Mourinho, Terry For EPL Awards

Posted: May 22, 2015 at 12:59 am   /   by   /   comments (0)

The Premier League has drawn up a five-strong list of candidates for Manager of the Year while eight are in the running for the Player of the Year award.

Southampton’s Ronald Koeman has earned a place on the shortlist after guiding his side into European contention despite losing a number of key players, including Adam Lallana and Luke Shaw, over the summer.



Garry Monk of Swansea is nominated after leading his team to its highest ever points total in England’s top flight and despite not picking up a manager of the month award during the campaign, Chelsea boss Jose Mourinho makes the shortlist after the Londoners won its fourth Premier League title and the Capital One Cup.

Leicester City boss Nigel Pearson joins the nominees after securing survival for the Foxes with an astounding late run after the team looked doomed having spent four months at the foot of the table.

And the list is completed by Arsenal manager Arsene Wenger, who maintained his record of securing Champions League football for the Gunners for an 18th consecutive season.

Four Chelsea players – John Terry, Cesc Fabregas, Eden Hazard and Nemanja Matic – have been shortlisted for the player’s award, alongside Manchester City’s Sergio Aguero, David de Gea of Manchester United, Tottenham striker Harry Kane and Alexis Sanchez of Arsenal.