Leadership Tussle: IPAC Identifies Ibrahim As Chairman | Independent Newspapers Limited
Newsletter subscribe


Leadership Tussle: IPAC Identifies Ibrahim As Chairman

Posted: Sep 1, 2015 at 6:47 am   /   by   /   comments (0)

By Ignatius Okorocha / Abuja

Following the leadership tussle in the recent election of a new executive committee of Inter-Party Advisory Council of Nigeria (IPAC), the council has stated categorically that Mallam Bashir Yusuf Ibrahim is its authentic Chairman following his victory in the July 24, 2015, election monitored by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).

Recall that the newly elected Executive Committee of IPAC was duly sworn at a public ceremony in the Conference Hall of INEC on August 26, 2015, and all seven members of the Committee, except one, were present at the event.

In a statement signed and made available to Daily Independent by its Publicity Secretary, Chief Dike Ogbuehi, the Council expressed regrets that Mr. Peter Ameh who lost the July 24 chairmanship election to Mallam Bashir Ibrahim, aided by its immediate past chairman, Mr. Yunusa Tanko, is parading himself as IPAC chairman.

It appealed to Mr. Ameh to desist from this misrepresentation and abide by the decision of the majority of IPAC members who elected Mallam Bashir as their Chairman.

It added: “The new Executive Committee is determined to reposition and strengthen IPAC in order to help build a strong, virile, prosperous and democratic Nigeria.

“Accordingly, Council enjoins party leaders to direct their Chairmen in the 36 States and Abuja to support the new IPAC leadership under Mallam Bashir Yusuf Ibrahim in order to strengthen the cohesion, stability and unity in IPAC at national and State level.”