Lagos, Enugu, Ogun, Ebonyi Get New Speakers | Independent Newspapers Limited
Newsletter subscribe


Lagos, Enugu, Ogun, Ebonyi Get New Speakers

Posted: Jun 8, 2015 at 6:40 pm   /   by   /   comments (0)

The Enugu State House of Assembly has elected the member representing Enugu East Urban Constituency, Edward Uchenna Ubosi, as Speaker.

Ubosi, a second-term member of the House, was unanimously elected and sworn in as Speaker on Monday.

The Clerk of the House, Christopher Amadi Chukwurah, who inaugurated the Sixth Assembly, read the proclamation letter in which he conveyed his goodwill message to the House.

A motion for Ubosi’s nomination was moved by he member representing Awgu North, Sunday Ude-Okoye, and seconded by Ikechukwu Meletus Ezugwu, representing Udenu.

When no further nomination or objection was made, the Clerk declared Ubosi the Speaker and administered the oath of office.

Meanwhile, on Monday the member representing Agege 1 Constituency, Mudashiru Ajayi Obasa, was chosen as the Speaker of the Eighth Lagos State House of Assembly.

Obasa, a four-time member of the Assembly was proposed as the Speaker by the member, representing Lagos Mainland Constituency 2, one of the major contenders for the post, Moshood Oshun.

Oshun’s motion was seconded by Sola Giwa, a lawmaker for the Lagos Island Constituency 2.

In a statement signed by his Chief Press Secretary, Habib Aruna, Lagos State Governor Akinwunmi Ambode described Obasa as an experienced legislator and administrator who would bring his wealth of experience to bear in steering the ship of the House.

The governor also commended the members of the House for the smooth and rancour-free manner in which they conducted the election to choose their leaders.

In a similar vein, the Ebonyi State House of Assembly, at the Assembly Complex in the state capital, Abakaliki, on Monday, elected the member representing Izzi West State Constituency, Ogbonnaya Nwifuru, as Speaker.

This followed the inauguration of the House by Governor Dave Umahi.

Nwifuru was nominated after a motion by the lawmaker representing Onicha East, Hon. Odefa, which was supported by Hon. Joseph Nwaobasi (Ezza North East).

The Clerk of the House, Rose Nwokporo, immediately swore him in.

Odefa was later nominated as Deputy Speaker of the House by Chike Imo Ogiji (Ikwo South), a motion seconded by Frank Onwe (Ohaukwu North).

The Clerk also proceeded to swear him in.

Both members are ranking members of the House.

While Nwifuru was re-elected for the second time, Odefa is returning to the House for a third term.

In Ogun State, the member representing Yewa (Egbado) North 1 Constituency, Suraj Adekunbi, was returned as Speaker of the House of Assembly for another four years.

He was sworn in after Governor Ibikunle Amosun inaugurated the eighth legislative Assembly on Monday.

Adekunbi was nominated for the office again by Hon. Ojodu Olayiwola from Abeokuta North State Constituency without opposition.