Kaduna Gov, El-Rufai, Collapses Five Ministries | Independent Newspapers Limited
Newsletter subscribe


Kaduna Gov, El-Rufai, Collapses Five Ministries

Posted: Jun 9, 2015 at 6:14 pm   /   by   /   comments (0)

Kaduna State Governor, Nasiru El-Rufai, has announced a major restructuring of the government that resulted in the reduction of the number of ministries in the state from 19 to 13.

By the new structure, as disclosed in a statement by the Special Assistant on Media and Publicity to the governor, Samuel Aruwan, on Tuesday, the former Ministry for Lands, Survey and Country Planning is being moved to the Governor’s Office as a department.

Also, the former Ministry for Rural and Community Development becomes a department in the Deputy Governor’s Office, just as the function of the Information Ministry is now decentralised, such that each ministry would, henceforth, have its own Public Relations Unit attached to the office of the Chief Executive.

“El-Rufai decided to reduce the number of commissioners to only 13 as against the 24 appointed by the immediate past administration.

“The governor will also limit the number of aides that the 13 commissioners will recruit to support them in the discharge of their duties,’’ the statement said.

Meanwhile the new ministries will include Ministries for Justice, Agriculture and Forestry, Commerce, Industry and Tourism. Others are Local Government, Youth, Sports and Culture, Environment and Natural Resources, according to the statement; Ministry for Women Affairs and Social Development, Ministry for Water Resources, Ministry for Health and Human Services, Ministry for Education, Science and Technology.

Ministry for Budget and Planning, Ministry for Finance, Ministry for Works, Housing and Transport“ are also included.