Ivan Epstein Appointed Judge For EY World Entrepreneur Of The Year Award | Independent Newspapers Limited
Newsletter subscribe


Ivan Epstein Appointed Judge For EY World Entrepreneur Of The Year Award

Previous EY winners displaying their awards
Posted: Jun 9, 2016 at 3:18 pm   /   by   /   comments (0)

Nkasiobi Oluikpe


Lagos – Ivan Epstein, co-founder of Softline, a multinational JSE-listed software group, has been appointed judge for the EY World Entrepreneur of the Year Award, to be held in Monte Carlo, Monaco.
The award is given on the basis of six criteria, giving all country winners an equal opportunity to compete: entrepreneurial spirit, financial performance, strategic direction, global (or community) impact, innovation, and personal integrity/influence.
Epstein was awarded the EY “South Africa’s Best Entrepreneur” in 1999/2000, and appointed to the panel of judges where he now serves as chair. Ever since, he has selected many of South Africa’s entrepreneurs including a global winner.
The awards see the winners in EY Entrepreneur Of The Year awards from 49 countries compete for the global title. The independent judging panel comprises distinguished EY Entrepreneur of the Year past winners and other well-known entrepreneurs.
In the words of Epsteins, “Like many of the businesses we serve, we started from humble beginnings, developing into a successful international business. I know about the human sacrifice and hard work it takes to create one of the millions of small and medium businesses that power the global economy.
“For that reason, this award and its focus on entrepreneurial excellence is close to my heart. I look forward to learning more about how entrepreneurs from around the world are serving their communities, creating growth and prosperity with their inspiring ideas.”
The Ernst & Young (EY) Entrepreneur of the Year Awards, sponsored by Ernst & Young, are held in more than 140 cities and in more than 50 countries.
Despite the name, the award can be given to multiple individuals per year. In 2013, there were 10 winners for the state of New York. In 2014, \nkasiobiu Oluikpethere were 11 United States National winners; one individual was recognized as the “Overall Award Winner.”