Imo Assembly Recalls Suspended Members | Independent Newspapers Limited
Newsletter subscribe


Imo Assembly Recalls Suspended Members

Posted: Jun 4, 2016 at 6:12 am   /   by   /   comments (0)



OWERRI – Three suspended members of the Imo State House of Assembly, Ifeanyi Lawrence Duruji, Ngozi Sylvia Obiefule and Obinna Arubrose Egu representing Ehime Mbano, Isu and Ngor Okpala State constituencies respectively have been recalled to join their colleagues in the law making body. Hon. Acho Ihim, the Speaker of the House, who pronounced their reinstatement during a fully attended session of the House, said that the suspended lawmakers were being recalled based on their manifest demonstration of remorse and penitence which they exhibited while on suspension.

Hon. Ihim who represents Okigwe State constituency, the report of the committee set up to look into their parliamentary conducts which led to their suspension indicated that they regretted their action that earned them the suspension.

Ihim said while one of them went totally on her knees before the committee pleading for forgiveness, another as contained in the report dropped his arrogance, wrote a confessional and humble letter denouncing his actions and that of his constituency, just as the third dissociated himself from the acts that gave rise to the suspension, pleading for pardon.