Giwa, Effiong, Three Others Each Banned For Five Years | Independent Newspapers Limited
Newsletter subscribe


Giwa, Effiong, Three Others Each Banned For Five Years

Posted: May 13, 2016 at 3:00 am   /   by   /   comments (0)

Peter Edema

LAGOS – The Nigeria Football Federation (NFF) on Thursday banned Chris Giwa, Johnson Effiong and three others from all football maters each for five years.
The others are Muazu Suleyman, Yahaya Adama and Sani Fema.
The decision to ban these officials was taken at a meeting of the Disciplinary Committee of the NFF at its meeting on Thursday in Abuja.
They were found guilty of illegally representing the NFF, which isa breach of Art. 40 of the NFF Statutes, “when they without due authorization and mandate purported to contract a Law Firm, Messrs Leslie Cohen & Associates of Illovo Law Chambers, 4 Fricker Road, Ground Floor, South Africa in the name of Nigeria Football Federation (NFF) and refused to pay for services whereby the said Messrs Leslie Cohen & Associates commenced proceedings against the NFF for the sum of $100,000 being legal fees for professional services rendered in the High Court of South Africa, Gauteng Local Division, Johannesburg.”
They were also found guilty of breaching Art. 69(1) of the NFF Statutes by taking football matters to the ordinary court and failing to submit to the jurisdiction of FIFA and the NFF.
They were also found guilty of failing to comply fully with the Statutes, regulations, directives and decisions of FIFA and NFF in contravention of Art. 13 1(a) of NFF Statutes 2010 in relation to the NFF Election held in Warri, Delta State on 30th September, 2014.
Giwa was found guilty of breaching “the general rules of conduct as contained in Art. 13 of the FIFA Code of Ethics when he invaded the premises of the Nigeria Football Federation and falsely presented himself as President of the NFF on 6th May, 2016.”
The NFF also said that they breached fiduciary and loyalty as contained in Art. 15 of FIFA Code of Ethics 2012 by carrying out various deliberate acts and conducts capable of attracting a ban from FIFA on the NFF and capable of putting the administration and development of football in Nigeria into jeopardy.
“Based on the findings above and in line with the provision of Art 65 (3) of the NFF Statutes 2010, the NFF Disciplinary Committee hereby pronounces the following sanctions on the following persons:
“Christopher Giwa, Muazu Suleyman, Yahaya Adama, Sani Fema and Johnson Effiong are hereby banned from taking part in any football related activity for a period of Five years each.”