Four ECOMOG Field Commanders, Two Journalists To Receive Posthumous Awards | Independent Newspapers Limited
Newsletter subscribe


Four ECOMOG Field Commanders, Two Journalists To Receive Posthumous Awards

Posted: Mar 5, 2016 at 9:52 pm   /   by   /   comments (0)

Four ECOMOG Field Commanders, two Nigerian journalists will receive posthumous awards at the public presentation of a book, entitled, “The ECOMOG Story,” in Abuja on March 17.
Mr. Frank Akinola on Friday said the recipients would be honoured for their sacrifices in the Liberian civil war.
Akinola on behalf of the organizers named the recipients as the late Majors-General, Ishaya Bakut, Rufus Kupolati, John Inienger and Maxwel Khobe.
He said the two journalists are Krees Imodibie of the Guardian Newspaper and Tayo Awotusin of the Champion Newspaper.
“The book launch will feature posthumous award to four ECOMOG field commanders whose gallantry and professionalism were chronicled in the book.
“Two Nigerian journalists who lost their lives in the Liberian civil war and to whom a complete chapter was devoted in the book will also be honoured posthumously.
“The public presentation of the book will take place at the Nigerian National Merit Award House on March 17,’ the statement said.
He said the field commanders would be honoured with the award of Grand Commander of International Peace (Africa).
Akinola added that the two slain journalists would receive the award of Grand Master of International Peace (Africa) for their bravery and contribution to journalism.
He said that the organisers had also named Lt.-Gen. Arnold Quianoo of Ghana, Maj.-Gen. John Shagaya and Maj.-Gen. Timothy Shelpidi as other former field commanders to be given award at the event.
Akinola added that Maj.-Gen. Felix Mujakperou, Gen. Martin Agwai and Lt.-Gen. Victor Malu would be honoured at the event.
He said other field commanders whose tenures during the ECOMOG operations were covered in the book would also be recognised by the organisers.
He said the retired Brig.-Gen. Mansur Dan-Ali, Minister of Defence, would grace the occasion as Chief host while Rep. Betara Aliyu, the Chairman, House of Representatives Committee on Defence, would be the Chairman.