Federation Cup: Yekini, Ogedegbe To Receive Honour | Independent Newspapers Limited
Newsletter subscribe


Federation Cup: Yekini, Ogedegbe To Receive Honour

Posted: Nov 19, 2015 at 6:30 am   /   by   /   comments (0)

The Nigeria Football Federation, NFF, will on Sunday at the final of the 2015 Federation Cup, honour more of those who had contributed to making the Federation Cup the most glamorous football tournament in the country. The yearly honourary ceremony is part of the attempt to restore glory to a tournament that used to draw the biggest crowds.

The Federation Cup is popular for its upsets and the 2015 edition is not left out in terms of upsets, as Akwa United and Lobi Stars, two teams that finished in the bottom half of the Nigeria Premier League table, will battle it out in the final.

The 2015 Federation’s Cup Honorary list include former Shooting Stars striker, Rashidi Yekinni, Baba Otu Mohammed of Mighty Jets, Best Ogedegbe, former Standard of Jos defender, Okey Isima, Friday Ekpo , Sam Opone, Amusa Adisa, Inua Rigogo, Dairu Sadi, and Ifeanyi Onyedika of Enugu Rangers.

Others are retired FIFA graded referee Linus MBA, and veteran journalist, Segun Adenuga. The NFF and the Lagos State Sports Commission have also announced that gates will be free, while the sum of N200,000 will be won via a raffle draw.

Fans have been told to expect a well-monitored situation with efficient crowd control, alert security officers, friendly protocol officers and well marshalled parking, all in a bid to make the Federation Cup experience worthwhile.