Factional NLC leaderships emerge in Abia, Edo | Independent Newspapers Limited
Newsletter subscribe


Factional NLC leaderships emerge in Abia, Edo

Posted: Apr 24, 2015 at 12:28 pm   /   by   /   comments (0)

Emeka Okafor (Umuahia) and Francis Onoiribholo (Benin)

The leadership crisis rocking the Nigerian Labour Congress (NLC) may seems far from over, as the Abia and Edo states chapters of the pressure group has produced different sets of factional leaders within the last 24 hours.

Late Thursday evening, the faction loyal to Comrade  Joe Ajero elected Comrade Christopher Ezeikel as the union’s Chairman in Abia state, while a parallel congress held in Edo State has produced two chairmen to run affairs of the workers union in the state same day.

While the comrade Joe Ajero faction elected Comrade Eddy Ossai of the NUPENG as its chairman, the Waba Ayuba led faction retained the incumbent state chairman, Comrade Emma Ademokun, for a second term in Edo.

In Abia, a motion calling for the dissolution of the former State NLC leadership under Comrade Sylvanus Eyeh was moved by Comrade Matins Uzoegbu of the National Union of Electricity Employee to pave way for the election that returned, unopposed, a set of officers of under the Ajero led faction.

Those elected under this platform in Abia are, Comrade Christopher Eziekel (MHWUN)-State Chairman; Godwin Ugwu,(NUPPEN), 1st Vice Chairman; Comrade E. I Nweke (NUEE), 2nd Vice Chairman; Comrade Nkechi Agwuncha (NUEE), Treasurer; Comrade Prince Onukwue (NUPPRO), Auditor, Comrade Odoh Joseph (NUR), Auditor II and Comrade Bestman Ezigbo, (NWA), Comrade Onunka Nnamdi (ASSURI), Ex-officio members.