Enugu Assembly Clears Ugwuanyi’s 24 Commissioners | Independent Newspapers Limited
Newsletter subscribe


Enugu Assembly Clears Ugwuanyi’s 24 Commissioners

Posted: Jul 15, 2015 at 12:39 am   /   by   /   comments (0)

By Emmanuel Nzomiwu  –  Enugu


Enugu State House of Assembly has cleared 24 commissioner nominees whose names were forwarded to the House by Governor Ifeanyi Ugwuanyi.

They were cleared after a screening exercise in the House which lasted for about six hours on Tuesday.

Speaker of the House, Edward Ubosi who announced the clearance of the commissioners after the screening exercise, directed the Clerk of the House to communicate the resolution of the House to the Governor immediately.

Ifeanyi Ugwuanyi

Ifeanyi Ugwuanyi

The Commissioners include three former House of Representatives members, Ambassador Fidel Ayogu, Chijioke Edoga and Peace Nnaji.

Others are former Oji River LGA Chairman, Ozo Vitalis Onuzulike, founding Chairman of PDP in Enugu State, Charles Egumbe, Rita Chinelo Mba who was an Adviser to immediate past Governor, Sullivan Chime, Patrick Ezebuilo Ikpenwa, Udeuhele Godwin Ikpechukwu, Mabeke Obinna Benjamin, Greg Nnaji, Chika Smart Ogbe, Ndukwe Charles Chuka, Chidi Aroh and Sam Ogbu Nwobodo.

The rest are Emeka Okeke, Miletus Ezegwuorie Eze, Prof. Uchenna Eze, Charles Ogbonna Asogwa, Solomon Izuchukwu Onah, Mr. Vitus Okechi, Mike C. Eneh, Fide Ani and Eucheria Uche Offor.

Earlier during the screening exercise, members of the House told the three former House of Representatives members among the commissioner nominees, Fidel Ayogu, Chijioke Edoga and Peace Nnaji and the founding Chairman of PDP, Charles Egumgbe, to bow and go, as a mark of recognition.

The others were however subjected to rigorous question and answer sessions by members of the House.