Ekiti Reconstitutes LG Caretaker Committees | Independent Newspapers Limited
Newsletter subscribe

South West

Ekiti Reconstitutes LG Caretaker Committees

Posted: Jun 12, 2015 at 1:48 am   /   by   /   comments (0)

By Yaqoub Popoola  –  Ado-Ekiti


Caretaker Committee members have been reconstituted in Ekiti , as Governor Ayodele Fayose urging to give priority to his stomach  infrastructural agenda.

The state House of Assembly had last Friday acceded to Governor Fayose’s request to dissolve the councils and reconstitute having spanned the mandatory six months as stipulated by the constitution.

A letter dated June 5 and addressed to the Speaker, Rt. Hon Kola Oluwawole, asked for the Assembly’s nod for the reconstitution of the caretaker committees in consonance with the State Local Government Transition law No 4 of 2002.

It was observed that virtually all the members were returned with the exception of the former caretaker chairman in Oye Local Government, who was dropped and replaced with Mr Oluwole Paul.

Represented by the Deputy Governor, Dr Kolapo Olusola, the governor charged the caretaker chairmen to bring their experiences to bear in the running of the LGs in order to hasten rapid development at the grass roots.

He said “You are appointed based on your proven integrity both in private and public offices. I want you to bring your experience to bear in the service of the people by engineering rapid transformation and development at the grass roots, nothing than the best is expected of you. It is hoped that you will not disappoint the state.”

He urged the council bosses to be diligent and transparent in the conduct of their functions.

“I appeal to you to be submissive to the governor. It is only a leader that follows well that can lead well. The stomach infrastructure is the baby of the governor and should be replicated and implemented in the local governments.

The new council bosses are Alhaji Dauda Ajise (Ado), Peter Daramola (Efon), Falaye (Ekiti East), Olowo Joseph (Ekiti South West), Olasanmi Moses (Ekiti South West), Adebayo Joseph (Emure), Funke Odunlade (Gbonyin), Deji Odutola (Ido Osi), Owoeye Sesan (Ikere), Adeyanju Adeyeye (Ikole), Abiodun Dada (Ijero) and Ayo Oladimeji (Ilejemeje).