EFCC Leadership: Senate To Commence Screening Of Magu, 4 Others | Independent Newspapers Limited
Newsletter subscribe

Latest News

EFCC Leadership: Senate To Commence Screening Of Magu, 4 Others

Posted: Jul 14, 2016 at 4:28 pm   /   by   /   comments (0)

Days after receiving the letter from the Presidency asking the Senate to screen and confirm Ibrahim Magu and four others as chairman and members of the board of Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC), Bukola Saraki, the Senate President yesterday read the letter on the floor of the Senate, kick starting the process of commencement of the screening.

Vice President, Yemi Oshibajo had written and forwarded the letter to the Senate as Acting President, while President Muhammadu Buhari was away to London on a medical break.

The letter was not read before the Senate proceeded on a three-week Ramadan fasting break, and had not read it until yesterday, since resuming plenary on Tuesday.

Senator Saraki who presided over the plenary yesterday read the correspondence from the presidency to the hearing of his colleagues as the day’s sitting commenced.

The letter from the President signed by Acting President by Vice President Yemi Oshibajo reads: The Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC) Act of 2004 established the commission and makes it responsible among other things for the coordination and enforcement of all Economic and Financial Crime Laws and Enforcement functions conferred on any person or authority.

“Section 2 (1) of the Act also provides that the Commission shall consists of a Chairman who shall: Be the chief executive and accounting officer of the commission; be a serving or retired member of any government security or law enforcement agency not below the rank of assistant commissioner of police or equivalent; Possess not less than 15 years cognate experience

“Apart from other ex-officio members of the commission provided for in section 2, the Act also provides for four eminent Nigerians with any cognate experience of the following that is finance, banking, law and accounting.

“Section 2 (3) further provides that chairman and members of his commission other than ex-officio members shall be appointed by the president and the appointment shall be subject to confirmation of the Senate.

“Section 3 of the Act provides that the chairman and members of the commission other than the ex-officio members shall hold office for a period of four years and maybe reappointed for further term of four years and no more.

“In view of the following, I hereby draw your Excellency’s attention to the vacancy that existed in the EFCC.

“Having carefully considered eminently suitable qualified Nigerians for the vacant position. I am pleased to inform you of the appointment of the following and to propose them for confirmation of the Senate as provided by the EFCC Act.

“Magu Ibrahim Mustapha, ACP- Chairman; Nasule Moses- Member; Lawan Maman- Member; Garandaji Imam Naji- Member and Adeleke Abebayo Rafiu-Member

“The curriculum vitae of the appointee are attached for the information of the distinguished senators. I hope the screening will as usual be carried out expeditiously by the distinguished senate.

“Please accept the assurances of my highest regards.”