Edo 2016: INEC Releases List Of Parties, Candidates | Independent Newspapers Limited
Newsletter subscribe

Latest News

Edo 2016: INEC Releases List Of Parties, Candidates

INEC Presents Obaseki, Shaibu With Certificates Of Return
Posted: Jul 18, 2016 at 9:23 pm   /   by   /   comments (0)

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) on Monday in Benin released a list of 19 political parties that would participate in the September 10, 2016 governorship election in Edo State.

Mathew Ugwuocha INEC’s Head of Legal Services signed the list.

It also contained the names of candidates being fielded by the parties.

The list contains 19 male governorship candidates, 15 male running mates and four female running mates.

The governorship candidates with female running mates are Thompson Osadolor, KOWA; Adviser Nowamagbe, UPP; Ishaka Ofemile, AA; and Ukonga Frank, NNPP.

The running mates are Nancy Ewemade, AA; Florence Okundaye, KOWA; Okosun Davis, UPP; and Emodogo Eweha, NNPP.

Other governorship candidates include Osagie Ize-Iyamu, PDP, with John Yakubu as running mate; and Godwin Obaseki, APC, with Philip Shaibu, member of House of Representatives, as running mate.