Delta NURTW Resolves Crisis, Embraces Peace | Independent Newspapers Limited
Newsletter subscribe


Delta NURTW Resolves Crisis, Embraces Peace

Posted: Jan 6, 2016 at 9:08 pm   /   by   /   comments (0)
By Felix Igbekoyi
Correspondent, Asaba

The National Union of Road Transport Workers (NURTW), Delta State Chapter can now heaved a sigh of relieve.
The leadership tussle which has been rocking the state as a result tussle in Udu ‘A’ branch of the union has been resolved following the inauguration of a new executive for the union.
Contenders for the chairmanship position, Comrades Elvis Akpokona and Mathew Uparan agreed that in the interest of peace and progress in the Union those elected should function without hindrance.
In the new executive, Comrade Akpokona emerged as Chairman, while Comrades Sikprako Felix, Solomon Sodje, Frank Muwen and Comrade Bikawei Russia clicked the positions of 1st, 2nd, 3rd Vice Chairman and Secretary respectively.
Secretary to the Delta State Council of the drivers’ union, Comrade Raymond Adeyemi thanked members of the Union for towing the line of peace, insisting that nobody should engage in anti-union activities.

Comrade Akpkona thanked members of the union for believing in him and pledged to work with all stakeholders, especially, the local government council, the traditional institution for a progressive NURTW that will attract development to Udu.
On his part, Comrade Mathew Uparan said leadership is not a do or die affair, stating, “today is for you, we want peace in Udu, elections will still come up in the future, we should work for progress,” while the State Treasurer of the Union, Comrade Amaechi Igumbor thanked the interested parties for been peaceful stated that it was important for everybody to be carried along.
Others who were elected into different positions were Comrades Dolor Peter (Assistant Secretary), Shalokpe Freeborn (Auditor), John Tere (Financial Secretary), Richard Agididotan (Assistant Financial Secretary), Festus Magege (Treasurer), Frank Diamond (Public Relations Officer), Moses Bokwe (Provost), Isaiah Masheni (Organizing Secretary), Christopher Jebishi, David Rheriobore, Lucky Jitokun (Trustees) and Amos Atele (Provost).