Court Orders Arrest Of 31 Suspects For Electoral Offences | Independent Newspapers Limited
Newsletter subscribe


Court Orders Arrest Of 31 Suspects For Electoral Offences

Posted: Jul 15, 2015 at 7:26 pm   /   by   /   comments (0)

By Felix Igbekoyi, Asaba


A magistrate’s court sitting in Agbor, Delta State, has issued a warrant of arrest on 31 persons allegedly hired by a former member of the House of Representatives to perpetrate fraud and foment trouble during the March 28, 2015 presidential  election.

The Chief Magistrate, in the warrant, ordered the Nigeria Police Force to arrest the suspects who were charged to court and released on bail on allegations of being used as thugs during the election.

In the warrant of arrest, dated July 14, 2015, the Chief Magistrate ordered that; “the suspects should be brought before him at the Chief Magistrate’s Court 1, Agbor, without delay.”

The proceedings titled MA/48c/2015 and MA/49c/2015 also ordered the arrest of their sureties, including one Eboigbodia Augustine, Williams Omorege, Solomon Oriahi, Onyenenue Franklyn, Onyememne Sunday, Vincent Agboegulem and Ehikwe Chukwuka, for failing to appear before the court since April 28, 2015.

The suspects, according to the warrant, are Monday Egwase, Tochukwu Believe Enoch, Ibrahim Bashorun, Taiwo Olabanji, Taiwo Bolaji, Cletus Sunday, Okoh Israel, Adebola Folorunsho, Olawale Olayinka, Dauda Jamilu and Igharo Sunday.

Others are Shonibare Bola, Segun Onyeka, Kareem Okanlawon, Raymond Olugbami, Apama Ogubike, Raskat Mohammed, Gabriel Ede, Idowu Balogun, Akeem Ade, Chinedu Orji, George Etuki, Peter Okugwu, Adeleke Taiwo, Abdulrasheed Kassim, Obinna Nnamdi Ogbonna, Towolan Tunde, Godday Dike Chuks, Emeka Agu, Tasfek Matthew and Segun Jeff.