Bayelsa Gov Poll: PDP In Early Lead | Independent Newspapers Limited
Newsletter subscribe


Bayelsa Gov Poll: PDP In Early Lead

Posted: Dec 7, 2015 at 8:45 am   /   by   /   comments (0)

*PDP 81,929 in five LGAs, APC 56,514

By Igoniko Oduma,Yenagoa

Results of Saturday’s  Bayelsa State governorship election in five local government areas officially collated on Sunday evening in Yenagoa showed the state governor and candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Seriake Dickson, leading the All Progressives Congress (APC) candidate, Timipre Sylva, by 25,415 votes.

The local government areas include  Kolokuma/Opokuma,Yenagoa,Sagbama, Brass and Ekeremor.

While Dickson polled a total of 81,929 votes in the five local government council areas so far collated, Sylva garnered a total 56,514 votes.

The resulted were collated at the collation centre located in Yenagoa City Council Hall in the state capital,Yenagoa.

The Chief Returning Officer for the Bayelsa governorship poll and Vice Chancellor of the University of Calabar, Zana Akpagu, led other INEC officials and top security personnel, to oversee the collation of the results by the returning officers of the five local government areas.

The election results of the five local government areas were officially announced as follows:

Kolokuma/Opokuma Local Government Area
APC 6,896
PDP 7,619
PDM 137

Yenagoa Local Government Area
APC 14,563,
PDP 24,258,
PDM 451

Sagbama Local Government Area
APC 5,382
PDP 28,934
PDM 406

Brass Local Government Area
APC 21,755
PDP 6,516
PDM 222

Ekeremor Local Government Area
APC 7,918
PDP 14,602
PDM 44

After the results of the five local government areas were collated and announced, Akpagu declared the proceedings closed for the day.

He informed that collation would resume on Monday when results of the election in last three local government areas namely Ogbia, Nembe and Southern Ijaw were expected to arrive.

State agent of the PDP, Fred Agbedi, told reporters in an interview that he was delighted over the election results so far declared, stressing that Dickson and his team worked hard for it.

“When you are winning you will be happy and it shows that we  worked hard enough to achieve this level of victory.

“From day one, the PDP and the governorship candidate, Henry Seriake Dickson,know that this is his election and Bayelsans know that he has performed well enough to win this election”, Agbedi said.

In his reaction, the state agent of the APC, Dennis Otiotio, argued that the election was fraught with irregularities in some of the five local government areas where results had been collated.

He said PVCs and card readers were not used in the exercise in the areas which PDP had been declared to have won.

According to him, manual accreditation of voters were carried out in some of the areas despite protests by APC agents at the unit, ward and local government levels over irregularities.

“The PVCs were not used, the card reader was not used, manual accreditation was done despite protest by APC agents at the unit level, at the ward level and at the local government level”, Otiotio said.