Bayelsa Assembly Members-elect Get Certificates Of Return | Independent Newspapers Limited
Newsletter subscribe

Niger Delta

Bayelsa Assembly Members-elect Get Certificates Of Return

Posted: May 11, 2015 at 2:13 am   /   by   /   comments (0)

By Igoniko Oduma, Yenagoa


The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC)
has issued certificates of return to 22 Bayelsa State House of Assembly members-elect in Yenagoa.
While 20 of them were elected on the platform of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), one each was elected under the umbrella of the All Progressives Congress (APC) and the All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA).

Presenting the certificates to the lawmakers-elect, the Resident Electoral Commissioner in charge of the state, Baritor Kpagih, urged them to be good ambassadors of their various constituencies.

He also called on them to be worthy representatives of the people who elected them.

“While you receive the certificates, I urge you to be good ambassadors of your constituencies.

“However, it is sad to say that Bayelsa is the only state in the
country that is still having an outstanding election in the two out of the 24 constituencies.

“I also urge you to keep preaching the gospel of peace, especially in the two areas that the election was still inconclusive,” Kpagih said.

Responding on behalf of the members-elect, re-elected Speaker of the House of Assembly, Konbowei Benson, commended INEC for conducting peaceful polls.

Benson, who represents Southern Ijaw Constituency 4, promised that the incoming members would work in oneness for the betterment of the state.

“I believe that we are all good people of Bayelsa and our desire to serve the people is to raise the bar of peace and good governance.”

“On the area that elections
are still outstanding, we will continue to support INEC in ensuring that election is conducted in those constituencies,” he said.
It would be recalled that the commission had declared the election inconclusive in two constituencies, namely, Ogbia Constituency 2 and Brass Constituency 2.

It has yet to fix a new date for the re-run.