Why Bayelsa APC Expelled, Suspended Members | Independent Newspapers Limited
Newsletter subscribe


Why Bayelsa APC Expelled, Suspended Members

Posted: Jun 16, 2015 at 5:55 pm   /   by   /   comments (0)

By Igoniko Oduma, Yenagoa


Facts have emerged on why the All Progressives Congress (APC) in Bayelsa State slammed nine of its members with sanctions for anti-party activities on Monday, June 15, 2015.

He party expelled Perekeme Richard Kpodoh and Sunday Frank-Oputu, and suspended seven others, including Godwin Sidi, Fred Akamu, Rosemary Okeazi, Livinus Opratapu, Harrow Zuokumo, Enoch Koripamo and Christopher Abariowei, from the party.

Announcing the decision at a press briefing in Yenagoa, secretary of the Bayelsa State chapter of the APC, Marlin Daniel, said Kpodoh, former interim chairman of the ‘New’ Peoples Democratic Party (nPDP) and Frank-Oputu, former chairman of Conference of Nigerian Political Parties, have left the APC to join the opposition PDP.

Daniel stated that they were expelled for anti-party activities.

“We want to make it clear that they are not members of the party. They have since been expelled. Kpodoh was expelled when he allegedly said the APC was dead on arrival in the state.

“Frank-Oputu himself has not been part of the party. But we are surprised of recent that they have been calling party meetings, in what capacity, we do not know.

“We want to alert the general public to know that they are not part of the APC in Bayelsa State and nobody should deal with them in that respect.

“These people have recruited others who are not APC members and have been holding meetings in Richard Kpodoh’s hotel. Money is shared to them and this money is from the PDP government through Kpodoh and his co-travellers,” the APC spokesman said.

He stated that a five-man ad hoc disciplinary committee had been set up to investigate the activities of the suspended party members.

It was, however, gathered on Tuesday, June 16, 2015 that leader of the APC and former governor of Bayelsa State, Timipre Sylva, directed the chapter chairman of the party, Tiwei Orunimighe, and the secretary, Daniel, to mete out the punishment.

Party sources disclosed that the expulsion and suspension of the APC members was the climax of a power tussle that characterised the election of state officers of the party after they transited from the defunct nPDP to the APC.

“You know, Kpodoh and Frank-Oputu wanted to be state chairman and secretary, respectively, but Sylva moved against them and planted Tiwei and other members of the state executive committee that we now have,” a source who pleaded anonymity told Daily Independent.

He said since the election, Kpodoh, Frank-Oputu, the suspended seven members and others had constituted formed a faction in the APC and had been carrying out propaganda against Sylva and the Tiwei-led executive.

“Sylva is particularly angered by recent findings that Governor Seriate Dickson has been sponsoring the Kpodoh group to keep the APC in perpetual disarray,” he source said.