Bauchi Sets Up 21-Man-Committee To Review 2015 Budget | Independent Newspapers Limited
Newsletter subscribe


Bauchi Sets Up 21-Man-Committee To Review 2015 Budget

Posted: Jun 20, 2015 at 7:49 am   /   by   /   comments (0)

By Patience Ogbodo-Iwuagwu, Bauchi


The Bauchi state Government has set up a 21-member committee to review the 2015 Budget in conformity with the policies and programmes of All Progressives Congress (APC) that has a four-year mandate of the electorate in the state.

The 2015 Bauchi state budget was prepared by the immediate past PDP administration and passed into law by the 7th State Assembly in the state.

A statement signed by the Permanent Secretary, Political Affairs in the Government House, Alhaji Hashimu Yakubu, said the review was necessitated by the need for elective delivery of socio-economic services to the people and the uplifting of their living condition, generally.

It said that the constitution of the Committee was approved by Governor Mohammed Abdullahi Abubakar, and is being led by the State Head of Service, Mr. Abdon Dalla Gin as its chairman.

The terms of reference of the committee according to Yakubu is to prioritize programmes/projects in the review exercise for short and long term societal impact.

The committee according to him is to review the entire budget with a view to determine relevance or otherwise of all provisions in all sectors of the State’s economy, adapt and streamline them to the new administration’s policies and programmes.

The committee is also to forecast revenue profile of the state for the period July – December 2015 as the basis for reviewing the budget and exploit other internal sources of funding of the reviewed budget.

According to the statement the Committee will also recommend an effective and efficient implementation, monitoring and evaluation mechanism that will enhance delivering for socio-economic growth and development of the state.

The review committee which has the privilege of making any recommendation incidental to its assignment is to submit a draft budget to the state government within two weeks of its appointment.

The committee has 10 permanent secretaries in the service as members, alongside the State APC Chairman –Uba Ahmed Nana, Dr. Kassim Gidado, Dr. Waziri Dogo, Alhaji Babayo Shehu, and Director of Budget and planning as members.