Anti-corruption: Reps Committee Pledges Support To Buhari | Independent Newspapers Limited
Newsletter subscribe


Anti-corruption: Reps Committee Pledges Support To Buhari

Posted: Nov 10, 2015 at 8:43 pm   /   by   /   comments (0)
Rotimi Akinwumi
The Public Accounts Committee of the House of Representatives has pledged its total support to the war against corruption and other forms of graft by President Muhammadu Buhari and the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) led Federal Government.
At the  Committee’s inaugural meeting at the National Assembly yesterday, its Chairman Hon. Kingsley Chinda ( Rivers PDP) said the Public Accounts Committee has the mandate to expose corruption, inefficiency and waste of public funds by public officials in the country and pledged that the mandate will be seen through.
The PDP lawmaker noted Section 88 of the 1999 Constitution of Nigeria and House Rules that vested the Committee with the power to change the courses of action on which the APC clinched power in the 2015 general election.
According to him,the Public Accounts Committee is one of the Special Committee of the National Assembly recognised by the constitution of the country with the mandate to expose corruption and wastages in the public sector.
He said ” This Committee is the one vested with the responsibility that the change that Nigerians are yearning for can be put to light. I am talking of positive changes that will touch positively on the lives of Nigerians.”
He explained that just two Committees of the House: the Public Accounts and Finance Committees have the constitutional powers that are clearly spelt out in the constitution.
The Committee Chairman who noted that its members were selected from various states in the Nigerian federation added that it has oversight power over all Ministries,Departments and Agencies (MDAs) of government.
He further hinted that the Committee would engage in training and retraining of its members and staffers to achieve maximum result in the onerous task of exposing corruption in the country.
 Members of the Committee include Hon.Rapheal Igbokwe (Imo), Hon Dr. Okechukwu Eze (Anambra), Hon.Mohammed Onawo Ogoshi (Nasarawa), Hon. Rufai Chanchangi (Kaduna), Hon.Nkole Ndukwe (Abia), Hon Ahmadu Shuaibu (Adamawa), Hon Peter Akpatason (Edo) and Hon. Ibrahim Baba (Bauchi).
Other members are: Hon.Gabriel Onyewife (Anambra), Hon. Gogo Bright Tamuno (Rivers), Hon. Benamena Deekor (Rivers).