ANA Releases Shortlisted Names For 2015 Literary Prizes | Independent Newspapers Limited
Newsletter subscribe

Arts-sun, LIFE

ANA Releases Shortlisted Names For 2015 Literary Prizes

Posted: Oct 8, 2016 at 6:34 pm   /   by   /   comments (0)


The judges of the Association of Nigerian Authors (ANA) Literary Prizes have released the shortlist for the 2015 edition. The names and titles are listed below in no particular order:
ANA Prose Fiction Prize includes: Avenger of Blood-Franklin Finecountry; On the Bank of the River –    Ifeoluwapo Adeniyi; Prodigals in Paradise-Henry Akubuiro and Odufa: A Lovers’ Tale – Othuke Ominiabohs –
For ANA Drama Prize, the shortlist includes Kosoko King of Eko – Fela Omoyele; Sacking the Porter- OlatundeBolaji and Fated Rift – R.C. Ofodile
ANA POETRY PRIZE:Thunder Protocol –  Obari Gomba; Kontradiction -Saddiq Dzukogi and The Birth of Illusion -Jumoke Verissimo
ANA/ ABUBAKAR GIMBA PRIZE FOR SHORT STORIES: River People and Other Stories –  Peter Ukwa; Midnight Cry – Paul Ugah and From Sin to Splendour- R. C. Ofodile.
The ANA / Ngozi Chuma Udeh Prize  for Children’s Literature: The Quest for the Gem of Arubia – Augusta Mmakamba Okon; Sunny and the Arodan – Ozimede Sunny Ekhaalume and Water-Carrier Millionaire-              Philip Begho.
According to a communiqué signed by Olatunbosun Taofeek, Publicity Secretary (South), the judges ruled that ANA/ Mazarriya Teen Author Poetry Prize and ANA/NECO Teen Author Prose Prize would not be awarded this year while the only entry for ANA/Maria Ajima Prize For Literary Criticism: ‘The Film Script, Nollywood and Cultural Diplomacy: Criticism of Artist’s Knowledge of the Film Story by Nwagbo Pat Obi would earn a Honorable Mention.
The judges include Prof Nelson Fashina-University of Ibadan; Mallam Salihu Mohammed Bappa- Ahmadu Bello University Zaria; Ismaila Bala Garba-  Bayero University,Kano; Dr Owojecho Omoha- University of Abuja and Mrs Joan Oji- Educational Resource Centre, Abuja.
Winners of the various prizes will be announced at the awards dinner of the 35th Anniversary International Convention of the association coming on up Saturday, October 29, in Abuja.