After 32 Years, Enugu Rangers Win Nigerian League | Independent Newspapers Limited
Newsletter subscribe


After 32 Years, Enugu Rangers Win Nigerian League

Enugu Rangers
Posted: Oct 3, 2016 at 4:10 am   /   by   /   comments (0)

Chibuike Chukwu

LagosAfter a 32-year wait, Rangers International of Enugu, on Sunday at the Nnamdi Azikiwe Stadium, won the Nigerian topflight title following their 4-0 victory over El-Kanemi Warriors of Maiduguri.

Needing just a point to win the league, the Flying Antelopes came out strong on their opponents, scoring two goals in the first 45 minutes before finishing the rout in the 64th and 90th minutes.

Chisom Egbuchulam grabbed a hatrick in 5th, 64th and 90th minute, sandwiching Osas Okoro’s 42nd minute goal.

Rangers thus finished the league with 63 points, three points ahead of second-placed Rivers United, who defeated Akwa United 2-1 in Uyo.

The Flying Antelopes have equally won accumulated prize money of N90 million out of which, N40 million is the direct payment for emerging champions.

Recall that the League Management Company (LMC) stated last week that the winner of the current league season  “would received a minimum of N90m in all direct payments for the 2016 season including the Basic Award  which comprises of pool of funds shared equally amongst all the 20 participating clubs, the Merit award paid to clubs based on their final position on the table, the Football development and the Bonus award, which is paid to clubs based on performances including incentives for improving match attendance, away wins/draw, fielding players under the age of 18 and hosting live broadcast matches.

“In addition to the direct payments clubs do also benefit from other indirect payments such as free registration of players and officials, free insurance, payment of match officials’ indemnities and hotel accommodation as well as sponsored seminars and other engagements funded by the LMC.”

Last season, the highest payout from the Merit Award, which went to Enyimba International was N30m from a total pool of N150m and this year’s figure of N200m represents an increase of 25%.

The Merit Award pool has been witnessing an annual progression from N50m in 2012/13 to N75m in 2013/14 season and now N200m.

Meanwhile, Rivers United, which defeated Akwa United 2-1 in Uyo booked the last CAF Champions League spot while Wikki Tourists qualified for CAF Confederations Cup after finishing third above FC IfeanyiUba, which lost 1-0 to MFM in Lagos. Wikki beat Sunshine Stars of Akure 2-0 in Bauchi. MFM escaped the drop.