AFN Golden League: Egwero,Metu, Ezeala Chase AFN Jackpot | Independent Newspapers Limited
Newsletter subscribe


AFN Golden League: Egwero,Metu, Ezeala Chase AFN Jackpot

Posted: Jun 11, 2015 at 12:10 am   /   by   /   comments (0)

It’s promises to be a full house at Rojeeny mini-sports Stadium in Oba, Anambra State as Ogho Oghene-Egwero, Obinna Metu and Nkem Ezeala contest for the N1.5 million Jackpot in the first leg of the Athletics Federation of Nigeria (AFN) holding on Thursday.

Some of the athletes expected at the meet include former National Champion, Egwero who lowered his time from the last All-Comers championship in Abuja. At the nation’s capital last month, Egwero did a time of 10.28 secs, but he improved to a Season’s Best (SB) of 10.20 secs, which won him the race.

It’s also however gladdening that Ezeala, Egwero, Obinna Metu and other sprinters male and female would be available at Rojeeny on Thursday for the Golden League showdown.

With a time of 10.20 secs, posted at Yaba tech. trials in April, Egwero has the edge over arch-rival Metu who has been struggling with his form after his wedding recently. At the All-comers in Port Harcourt in May 2015, Metu returned 10.6seconds, though he won the race, but going into Thursday meet at Rojeeny, Metu must do more to edge Egwero.

In the female category, Ezeala has clearly dominated the home front and with 11.5secs she posted in April, the petit sprinter wouldn’t have much problem improving her ratings at Rojeeny.

Also expected in the men’s 400m races are reigning National Champion and Custom man Isah Salihu, Orukpe Erayokan, Tobi Ogunmola and Noah Akwu.  Salihu won his race at the Yaba tech trials in April in 48.15 secs while Eko 2012 winner, Erayokan ran the fastest time in the 400m (46.58 secs.), which was slower than the 46.38 secs he posted in Abuja.

Rave of the moment in the women sprint zone is Ezeala who won the double 100/200m at the All-comers trials at Yaba Tech clinching the women’s 100m event in a time of 11.53secs and African Junior Champion, Praise Idamadudu won the 200m women’s youth category, beating other athletes to race to the finish line in a time of 23.71s would go head-to-head to determine who emerges the new AFN Golden League champion.