Adesina Wins AfDB Presidency | Independent Newspapers Limited
Newsletter subscribe


Adesina Wins AfDB Presidency

Posted: May 28, 2015 at 7:00 pm   /   by   /   comments (0)

By Celestine Amoke, Lagos

Nigeria’s Agriculture Minister, Akinwumi Adesina, won an election on Thursday, May 28, 2015, to become the new president of the African Development Bank (AfDB), the pan-African lender announced in its Twitter account.

The election took place in Abidjan, the capital of Cote d’Ivoire.

Adesina will take over from the bank’s outgoing President, Donald Kaberuka, on September 1, 2015 to become the 50-year-old body’s eighth leader.

Adesina clinched the coveted position by beating at the polls the likes of Sufian Ahmed of Ethiopia, Jaloul Ayed of Tunisia, Kordje Bedoumra of Chad, Cristina Duarte of Cape Verde, Samura M.W. Kamara of Sierra Leone, Thomas Sakala of Zimbabwe and Birama Boubacar Sidibe of Mali.

He has become the first Nigerian and first Anglophone to win the AfDB Presidency.