Adamu Back In CAF | Independent Newspapers Limited
Newsletter subscribe


Adamu Back In CAF

Posted: Jun 3, 2015 at 1:35 am   /   by   /   comments (0)

By Peter Edema – Group Sports Editor


Former FIFA and Confederation of African Football (CAF) Executive Committees member, Dr. Amos Adamu, is gradually inching his way back into football after serving his three-year ban from all football related matters by FIFA.

Amos Adamu

Amos Adamu

Adamu was banned by FIFA in November 2010 after he was found guilty of agreeing to receive £500,000 in order to influence the voting procedure with his vote for the 2018 FIFA World Cup bid. Despite his denial, an investigation by FIFA Ethics Committee found him guilty and was banned for three years. He also received 10,000 Swiss franc fine.

After the expiration of the 3-year ban in October 2013, Adamu said that his interest was not to rush back into football, noting that he had gone through some transformations, which had been worthwhile and now wiser.

In a surprise move at the weekend, CAF, while reconstituting its Standing Committees for the 2015-2017, named Adamu as member of the 2017 Africa Cup of Nations Organising Committee.

Also in the committee alongside Adamu is the President of the Nigeria Football Federation (NFF), Amaju Pinnick, with former NFF President, Brig. Gen. Dominic Oneya dropped.

Former NFF President, Aminu Maigari, was named into the African Nations Championship (CHAN) Organising committee with Ahmed Yusuf retaining his membership of the Technical And Development Committee.

Former Super Eagles two times coach, Adegboye Onigbinde, was dropped for Yusuf. Aisha Falode retains her membership of the CAF Media Committee.

Former NFF 1st Vice President, Amanze Uchegbulam, keeps his seat on the Appeal Board.

Former Director General of the National Sports Commission, Hon. Gbenga Elegbeleye, is appointed into the Disciplinary Board.

Oneya, who was dropped from the prestigious Nations Cup organizing Committee is on the InterClub Competition Committee, while former NFF President,  Sani Lulu Abdullahi is on the Club Licensing System Committee.